Planting bulbs

A bulb is normally planted to at least twice its depth, so that bulbs measuring, say, 2 in. from top to bottom are planted at least 4—5 in. deep. Taller-growing bulbs such as gladioli (Gladiolus) will require fairly strong supports, such as bamboo canes, to keep them upright. Shorter bulbs with heavy flower heads, such as hyacinths, will also need supporting, and an attractive cad can be made from flexible willow stems tied with raffia.
Heavy, poorly drained soil, which may cause the bulbs to rod can be improved prior to planting by mixing in horticultural grit.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Planting bulbs

  1. Pilo Gui says:

    I tried to send a message, but I could not find the link. I may not stay with socialspark for long. In what way will the link help? will you also reciprocate by placing one in yours? I add a blog to pilo’s only once a week. i normally update only ‘avialblah,’ another blogspot blog, regularly. If you want your link there, I will palce it there. You can see in my profile another blog on ‘Leg pain’ listed which will lead you to my other blog site. you may send a mail from any of my blog site to the effect as I am going to delete all these blogs, either today or tomorrow.Thanks,pilo Gui.

  2. James says:

    you can contact me at lemojhon(@)yahoo(.)com

Leave a Reply

